Looking back at Colorado’s rollercoaster 2021-22 season

The Buffs’ season included both uninspiring losses and a program-defining upset.

It’s the most wonderful time of the year for college basketball fans, as the NCAA Tournament is in full swing along with all of the chaos, drama, and storylines that it entails. Unfortunately for the Colorado Buffaloes, they’ve had no part of the fun this year as they were unable to secure a bid to the big dance.

Colorado did manage to secure a spot in the NIT, giving fans at least some hope for an extended basketball foray into the month of March. However, the Buffs’ season came to an untimely demise at the hands of their first-round opponent, the St. Bonaventure Bonnies, who have since knocked off both Oklahoma and Virginia on their way to the NIT semifinals.

Despite its lack of a lengthy postseason run, Colorado proved its ability to overcome tough stretches and showcased the young talent on its roster. Read on for a look back at the Buffs’ turbulent 2021-22 season.

McKinley Wright IV is our Colorado Buffaloes Wire Player of the Year

Give it up for McKinley Wright IV

The fans have spoken.

With 40% of the vote, McKinley Wright IV is our inaugural Colorado Buffaloes Wire Player of the Year.

Wright, who currently dawns a Minnesota Timberwolves uniform, was an integral part of the Buffs’ March Madness team from this past spring. In 23 games played in 2021, Wright scored double-digit points in 21 of them en route to a Pac-12 Championship Game appearance and an NCAA Tournament win over Georgetown. His senior season also earned him All-Pac-12 First Team honors for the third consecutive year.

After his name went uncalled in the 2021 NBA Draft, Wright was still able to sign a two-way contract with his hometown Minnesota Timberwolves. He made Buff nation proud in October when he drained a three-pointer on his first NBA field goal attempt. While he has yet to appear in an NBA game since, the CU legend put up some gaudy numbers in a stint with the G-League’s Iowa Wolves.

Wright continues to be an avid supporter of Colorado hoops and is a well-deserved selection for our Buffaloes Wire Player of the Year.

[vertical-gallery id=2871]

You Pick: Who should be the Colorado Buffaloes Wire Player of the Year?

Vote for the Colorado Buffaloes Wire Player of the Year

We’re turning it over to you, the fan, to pick our inaugural Colorado Buffaloes Wire Player of the Year.

You may not agree with our finalists, but we’ve narrowed it down to five Buffs for this prestigious award: McKinley Wright IV, Nate Landman, Carson Wells, Evan Battey and Mya Hollingshed.

To remind you just how special these Buffs were in 2021, check out our favorite article from each finalist.

These players all excelled in their respective sport. But who made the biggest impact? We’ll let you decide.

[polldaddy poll=11002981]